Hi! My name is Melissa Bell, and I will be an intern at the Public Health Foundation of India (PHFI) this summer.

I am a sophomore in the College of Arts & Sciences, majoring in Health & Societies with a concentration in Health Care Markets & Finance. I am also pursuing a minor in Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies. 

I am so excited for this summer! The PHFI internship will allow me to learn more about the health care system in India, as well as have hands-on experience in the field of public health. PHFI is an amazing institution with an incredible staff, and I am eager to learn from and work with the organization. This opportunity will be incredibly enriching as I plan on pursuing a career in public health. Additionally, I cannot wait to live in India and experience everything it has to offer. I will be residing in Delhi and look forward to learning more about the culture, living in the fast-paced city, and eating fantastic food. Moreover, since I love to travel to new places, I am particularly enthusiastic about exploring the diverse regions of India on the weekends. 

Since I have never been to India before, I am definitely a little nervous. I am most apprehensive about the super high temperatures, language barrier, and all the unknowns that come with traveling to a new place. However, the unknown makes this summer even more exciting.

I look forward to reporting back upon my arrival in Delhi!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

About melissabell9

I'm Melissa Bell! I'm from Wynnewood, PA (right outside of Philly), and I'm a sophomore studying Health and Societies. This summer, I'm working at the Public Health Foundation of India. I'm interested in history, health care systems, and health and gender inequities.