Pre-Internship

Hi everyone! My name is Michelle Lopez. I’m from Puerto Rico and grew up in New York. At Penn, I study International Relations with a minor in Environmental Science, and I am in the class of 2016 in the College. I am very excited because starting tomorrow, I will be interning at Chinmaya Organization for Rural Development (CORD), in Sidhbari, Himachal Pradesh. I am really interested in working with CORD’s projects on social justice or natural resource management, but am open to any area that I could contribute to! One of the reasons why I wanted to spend the summer in India is that since I would like to work with nonprofits in the future, it would be great to learn about a nonprofit in a different part of the world, that seeks to create change on many issues that I am interested in. I have only worked with nonprofits in the US so far, so am very excited to be somewhere I new. I look forward also to learning as much Hindi as I can, and to learning as much as possible about the place and community where I will be working in.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

About lopezmichellle

At Penn, I am majoring in International Relations and minoring in Environmental Science. I'm in the class of 2016. Through CASI, for the summer of 2015 I will be interning at Chinmaya Organization for Rural Development, in Sidhbari, Himachal Pradesh.